Jun 21, 2024  
2024-2025 Undergraduate Catalog 
2024-2025 Undergraduate Catalog

Hans A. Nielsen College of Business

Location: Jones Hall

Dr. David Palmer, Dean of the Hans A. Nielsen College of Business
Mr. Mark Crawford, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies for the Hans A. Nielsen College of Business
Andalis V C Burton, Executive Assistant to the Dean of the Hans A. Nielsen College of Business


Dr. Heather Chadwick, Dr. Kimberly Champagne, Mr. Mark A. Crawford, Dr. Darin Gerdes, Dr. Sally “Emory” Hiott, Dr. T. Christopher Holdorf, Dr. Ben LeVan, Dr. Kyeungrae Oh, Dr. Crissy Ortiz, Dr. David Palmer, Dr. Maxwell Rollins, Mr. Boyce Smith, Dr. Rachel Smith, Mr. Stephen Tate, Dr. Jeffrey Yost, Ms. Laura “Bea” Wray

Mission Statement

The Charleston Southern University Hans A. Nielsen College of Business prepares students for productive roles in business and society through exceptional teaching, distinguished by the integration of best business practices and timeless biblical principles.

The goals of the Hans A. Nielsen​ College of Business are to:

  • Encourage students, faculty, and other constituents to conduct their personal and professional lives according to biblical principles and to glorify God in all that they do.
  • Foster excellence in instruction, scholarship, service, and professional activities.
  • Attract and retain highly-motivated, qualified, and supportive faculty who model standards of high achievement, exceptional work ethic, and leadership.
  • Develop and provide programs that meet the rapidly evolving needs of the professional workplace including an awareness of the global business environment and proficiency with current technology.
  • Graduate students with a strong academic, social, and ethical foundation.
  • Equip students with the ability to think critically, communicate effectively, and function successfully in culturally diverse settings.
  • Assist students in academic and career planning, and to establish lifelong mentoring relationships.
  • Establish mutually beneficial relationships with the business community and professional organizations.


Charleston Southern University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.  Charleston Southern University has received specialized accreditation for its business programs through the International Accreditation Council for Business Education (IACBE), located in Olathe, Kansas.  The business programs in the following degrees are accredited by the IACBE:

  • Bachelor of Business Administration
  • Master of Business Administration
  • Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership